NSW State Champions decided

2019 NSW State Championships Won & Done. 

At the first ever “Super 6” Round for the Sparco Rotax Pro Tour the weather conditions proved mixed across the weekend. Saturday’s Qualifying & Heats 1 through to 3 saw drivers having to make last minute tyre decisions on the grid. With rain just making the track greasy it was make or break for many drivers. 

In Micro Max it was TWM Driver James Anagnostiadis who set the pole position on Saturday Morning and then shared heat wins with Burns Twins, Jaxson & Jenson. Come Super Sunday it was Jaxson Burns who walked away a first time State Champion with Jenson Burns in second place and making it a Z Corse podium lockout, Isaac McNeill finished an impressive third. This moves Jaxson to the top spot in the points chase to the 20th Rotax Max Challenge Grand Final which will be held in Sarno, Italy in October. 

Costa Toparis added to the trophy cabinet this weekend but it wasn’t easy. Toparis took home the blue plate but had Pro Karting Driver Kristian Janev & TWM pilot Aiva Anagnostiadis to watch out for. It was mixed results in the heats for our youngsters but it’s Costa who will go into Round 3 a clear points leader. 

In Junior Max it was William Seal & Beau Pronesti who entered as favourites but it was Luke Pink aboard his Praga Kart who is now the 2019 NSW State Champion. Kiwi driver Clay Osbourne & Beau Pronesti completed the podium. Coby Govoni was looking for a solid result after a positive Round 1 but despite showing the pace unfortunately couldn’t quite get there in the final. William Seal & Jarrod Hughes rounded out the Top 5. Hughes is eager for a podium in Junior Max and will be one to watch for the Ipswich Night Race. 

Rotax Light and it was no surprise that European Champion, TF race engines driver Pierce Lehane stood on the top step of the podium. It was a great battle all weekend between Lehane and former DD2 World Champion Cody Gillis & local Brodie Whitmore. Whitmore finished in second place matching his result from Round one whole Gillis rounded out the podium. Other locals Cody Brewcynski, Tyler Howard, Reece Cohen, Taylor Hazard and Jack Black were battling all weekend but unfortunately couldn’t take it to our new NSW State Champion, Pierce Lehane. 

2018 Series Champion Lane Moore took an impressive win in both the Pre Final & Final and showed why he hold the number 1 red plate upon his CRG Australia Kart. It was Zac Van Leeuwestyn & Tony Bregonje who were Moore’s closest competition throughout finals day. Moore admitted that the 6 races were tough with the “Super 6” format at such a technical track but he had to dig deep and get his CRG Kart back on the top step. 

Two from two. Jonathon Marcusson strikes again at Sydney Motorsport Kart Club. Taking his second round win in only his second meeting in a DD2. Marcusson had to battle with current Australia number 1, Ryan Kennedy and State Champion Cody Brewcynski but proved his Praga Kart could lead him to a win. Extending his points championship Marcusson has his eyes set on a World Final ticket. Jac Preston & Kiwi Josh Bethune rounded out the Top 5. 

DD2 Masters portrayed some of the best racing we’ve seen all year. It was a long haul for the drivers all ages over 32 but it was Z Corse Team Owner Kris Walton who took out the weekend and extended his championship lead. Racehaus driver Troy Bretherton brought his BirelArt home in second followed by Paul Rodgers in third. Scott Howard was looking promising going into the final off heat wins but a mechanical failure saw him pull in mid way through the race. 

That concludes the NSW State Championship Round at Sydney Motorsport Kart Club. The Sparco Rotax Pro Tour next visits Ipswich for the QLD State Championship. The event is the first night race since 2014 with finals being contested under lights on Saturday night. 

We would like to thank our sponsors, Sparco for bringing us the event, Manson’s TCLM, AWC Motorsport Academy, DPE Kart Superstores, CRG Australia, Electro Industries.

Photos by Coopers Photography.