The first official day of the fifth round of the Sparco Rotax Pro Tour kicked off today in a cool but sunny Puckapunyal. 

In Micro Max it was TWM Pilot James Anagnostiadis who set the pace early on qualifying before battling with Zed Corse Twins Jaxson & Jenson Burns. While James took two of three heat wins today Jenson Burns also has the pace to take out his first State Title as we lead in to finals day tomorrow. Local driver Sam March was consistently quick throughout today’s proceedings and will certainly be one to watch during tomorrow’s fourth heat, pre-final and final. 

Mini Max Drivers Aiva Anagnostiadis & Kristian Janev proved while they’re leading the heavily contested Mini Max category. Jake Rutkowski who previously won the Ipswich round and became a first time Mini Max State Champion is also among front runners. A chassis change since Ipswich & Kamal Mrad is a strong contender for a blue plate come Sunday Afternoon. Kiwi driver Sebastian Mason will be looking to add to the trophy cabinet with the Victorian State Championship up for contention. 

Luke Pink entered the weekend as series leader and after qualifying second finished consistently in the top 6. “I just need to have a strong finish this weekend to maintain the series lead but of course a win is always the goal” said Pink this afternoon. Parolin Driver, Ethan Feather didn’t have the ideal start to the weekend. After dropping a chain before turning a lap in qualifying the young Queenslander impressively drove to finish inside the Top ten in all three heats including a second place finish. Clay Osborne of New Zealand is currently sitting second place in the series points and has had a strong start to the weekend. The closeness and competitiveness of Junior Max is also joined by Sydney-Sider Beau Pronesti who will be adding to the action tomorrow. 

Pierce Lehane, Brodie Whitmore and Cody Gillis are once again the front runners of Rotax Light. A clean sweep of the heats so far for Lehane shows an insight to what we can only imagine will be another dominant weekend for the Kosmic Driver. Among the Top three in the series is Liam Ford, and Troy Farley Race Engines Driver Tyler Howard. With a double-header still to come at the season finale the year and the tickets to the Rotax Max Challenge Grand Finals Tickets are still well and truly up for contention. 

The CRG backed category Rotax Heavy has been shocked by the entry of Troy Alger who has quickly asserted his place after qualifying pole and winning his heats today. Closely behind him was CRG Pilot Lane Moore and AWC Driver Ben Walter is also inside the Top 3. The Rotax Heavy Drivers are all contending for the Rotax 125 Max Evo Engine, a custom painted Lucky Design Helmet and an IKD Gift Voucher. Lane Moore is currently leading the standings and is looking to extend his lead for the St George Kart Centre Team. 

Tyler Greenbury made a comeback to be remembered after qualifying on pole aboard his Praga Kart ahead of Ryan Kennedy, Nikolaj Thomas and Troy Morrissey. Kennedy took a clean sweep of the first three heats. After a DNF in the first heat Cody Brewcynzski is moving forward to keep his World Final dream alive. 

Kris Walton entered as series leader but it was Troy Bretherton who set the pole after securing a last lap quick time in the qualifying session this morning. Bretherton had mixed results after receiving a starting infringement in heat 1, a DNF in heat 2 before winning heat 3 ahead of Fraser Hart and Scott Howard. Terry Hanly was consistent all day and will be off pole for the fourth heat on Sunday morning. 

Tomorrow’s fourth heat, pre-final and final will be live streamed through the Rotax Pro Tour YouTube Channe and Facebook Page. As always the live stream wouldn’t be made possible without the generosity of our series and class sponsors. 


Manson’s TCLM

AWC Motorsport Academy 

DPE Kart Superstores 

Electro Industries

CRG Australia 

Tillett Racing Seats 

Lucky Design Helmets