Team Australia announced after hard fought Finals in Puckapunyal

A fantastic Finals day at Round 6 of the Rotax Pro Tour in Puckapunyal produced a spectacular showcase of truly hard-fought racing and sportsmanship, with Team Australia honours being decided in the closing laps of the Finals.

After a big year comprising of 6 Rounds, 6 Finals, 6 Pre-Finals, 18 Heat Races and 470 racing laps, we are very pleased to confirm this year’s official Team Australia line-up for the 2016 Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals in Italy:

  • Micro Max: Sebastian Ruiz (ACT)
  • Mini Max: James Wharton (VIC), Hugh Barter (VIC)
  • Junior Max: Dylan Hollis (VIC), Cody Brewczynski (NSW), Alec Morse (ACT)
  • Senior Max: Joshua Fife (ACT), Cody Gillis (NSW)
  • DD2: Adam Lindstrom (VIC), Troy Woolston (VIC), Nathan Tigani (NSW)
  • DD2 Masters: Lee Mitchener (VIC), Scott Howard (QLD), Kris Walton (QLD)

Above: Team Australia 2016 - Italy bound for the Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals (Photo by Coopers Photography)

In addition to the 14 drivers representing Australia in Italy, we are also pleased to confirm the 3 winners of the Rotax US Open tickets, who will Race the Rio in Las Vegas:

  • Mini Max: Angus Giffin (VIC)
  • Junior Max Trophy: Travis Worton (NSW)
  • Rotax 125 Heavy: Shay Mayes (NSW)

Micro Max - Final
In just about every race all weekend Canberra’s Sebastian Ruiz and Victoria’s Harry Arnett traded places for the lead, with the Final being no exception. Lap after lap the pair swapped positions in a race of their own, with Harry Arnett meeting the chequered flag in front of Ruiz at the end of the 17 lap Final. New Zealand’s Emerson Vincent held on for a very respectful 3rd position after only seeing the track for the first time on Thursday afternoon. Rounding out the field was Xavier Renshaw and Macka Hazard in 4th and 5th respectfully.

Above: Micro Max winner Harry Arnett ahead of Sebastian Ruiz (Photo by Coopers Photograhy)

Mini Max - Final
The trio of Hugh Barter, Kai Allen and James Wharton put on an incredible display of racing in the Mini Max class, with all drivers leading the Final at some stage. In the end it was Victorian Hugh Barter who made a last lap pass on Wharton to go on and take the win ahead of Kai Allen in 2nd and James Wharton in 3rd. Will Harper and Cody Maynes-Rutty rounded out the minor podium positions in 4th and 5th, hot on the heels of the leading pack.

Above: Hugh Barter won Mini Max ahead of Kai Allen and James Wharton (Photo by Coopers Photography)

Junior Max Trophy - Final
Jamrock Racing’s Travis Worton completed a solid weekend in the Junior Max Trophy class, taking out his 4th win of the season to secure his ticket to the Rotax US Open in Las Vegas. Worton made it a clean sweep, finishing over 4 seconds ahead of Tasmania’s Callum Bishop and Sydneysider Jaiden Pope. Zayd Tones crossed the line in 4th position just ahead of the hard-charging Kiwi Samuel Wright who drove to 5th position from last on the grid.

Above: Travis Worton is off to Las Vegas for the 2016 Rotax US Open (Photo by Coopers Photography)

Junior Max - Final
It was anybody’s race in the top 6 of the Junior Max final. Unfortunately a first lap incident hindered a few drivers campaigns, but in the end it was Redspeed’s Cody Brewczynski who broke away to take a convincing win over TWM drivers Cameron Longmore and Alec Morse. Both drivers battled for the third and final Junior Max ticket to represent Australia, however Morse’s 3rd place was enough for him to secure Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Final qualification. The Gold Coast’s Kade Vink held his position for the 20 lap final to finish a solid 4th, with Sydney’s Zac Raddatz advancing to round out the podium in 5th position.

Above: Cody Brewczynski took a convincing win in Junior Max and will now represent Australia (Photo by Coopers Photography)

Rotax 125 Light - Final
Brad Jenner enjoyed a total clean sweep in the Rotax 125 Light class, finishing with a lead of over 4 seconds aboard his James Sera Karting Centre FA Kart. Unfortunately the win was not enough for Jenner to secure his third ticket to represent Australia, with Cody Gillis holding out Joshua Fife for 2nd in the Final, which locked in the pair of TWM team mates for this year’s Grand Finals in Italy. Nikolaj Thomas and Troy Alger both drove great races in the Pre-Final and Final, finishing 4th and 5th respectively to round out the Rotax 125 Light podium.

Above: A clean sweep for Brad Jenner in Rotax 125 Light (Photo by Coopers Photography)

Rotax 125 Heavy - Final
With a ticket to the Rotax US Open in Las Vegas on the line, the Rotax 125 Heavy Final was a closely fought battle between the 4 drivers of Clem O’Mara, Chris Farkas, Shay Mayes and Joshua Davey. Contact between Davey and O’Mara took both drivers out of winning contention, handing Farkas the lead and a 1.9 second win ahead of Mayes. Clem O’Mara and Joshua Davey finished 3rd and 4th after their earlier incident, with Ben Ritchie salvaging 5th position to fill the podium.

Above: Chris Farkas took victory in Rotax 125 Heavy ahead of Shay Mayes (Photo by Coopers Photography)

DD2 - Final
Once again the DD2 class put on the race of the weekend, with multiple dices for positions in the top 5 throughout the final. Formula K’s Adam Lindstrom showed great speed and consistency all weekend, taking the win and earning his first ever ticket to the Rotax Grand Finals. Karting World’s Nathan Tigani managed to slot himself into 2nd position behind Lindstrom, with a slight gap back to Ryan Kennedy who crossed the line in 3rd. CompKart’s Joshua Car held on for a strong finish in 4th position, with a great drive by Dalton Ellery for 5th position aboard his JC Kart.

Above: Adam Lindstrom won the DD2 Final and secured his Team Australia ticket (Photo by Coopers Photography)

DD2 Masters - Final
A 5 way battle between Lee Mitchener, Daniel Richert, Scott Howard, Mark Flood and Troy Bretherton set up a tremendous race in the DD2 Masters Final. Both Mitchener and Howard shared the lead at different stages, but it was the series leader of Lee Mitchener who took victory at the end of the 20 lap final, with Victorian Daniel Richert finishing 2nd ahead of Scott Howard in 3rd. Mark Flood showed great pace all weekend to hold onto 4th position in the Final ahead of Pacific Kartsport’s Troy Bretherton who rounded out the podium in 5th position.

Above: DD2 Masters series leader Lee Mitchener took the win in the Final (Photo by Coopers Photography)

The seventh and final round of the 2016 Rotax Pro Tour takes place at the Lincoln County Raceway in Dubbo, NSW on September 30 – October 2. The Rotax Pro Tour “Grand Final” will be Live Streamed, and will crown this year’s Rotax MAX Australian Challenge Champions, as well as the NSW State Champions. Stay tuned via and Facebook for more information coming soon!